Track of the Day – ESCAPE RING – All The Way

ER2

Escape Ring are a rock group from Melbourne Australia. As far as I can tell – and I have to be honest I am very light on details here – ‘All the Way’ is their first single. They’re led by main songwriter Darren Moss, they’ve just got going during the pandemic, and, er, did I mention they were from Melbourne in Australia?

I stumbled across this via Twitter and sometimes, yeah, I discover a new band before they’ve really done much in terms of social media or interviews. This is one of those times. But I suspect we will all be hearing a lot more about them as time goes on.

On the evidence here, and some short text online in which they reveal influences as diverse as Fleetwood Mac and Paul McCartney to The White Stripes via Crowded House, they have a strong classic rock foundation. This sounds contemporary, it doesn’t sound like a ’70’s cover band, but the melody and the phrasing – the songwriting in general – you can hear that it steeps itself in a long tradition of elegant, acoustic composition. I get the Crowded House reference, they actually bring to mind Jackson Browne a little bit for me. Carole King, Carly Simon even, that sort of melodic, west coast mellow rock style. I like it anyway, a lot. It’s not all about noisy punk music with me, when something is good it’s good and I latch onto it.

So yeah, let’s you and me both keep an eye on Escape Ring. Let’s see what comes next and if we can find out a little more about them.

Follow Escape Ring:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/category/Musician-Band/Escape-Ring-111952153938869/

Official: https://escapering.com/

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.