Track of the Day – SHREDD – The Switch

Shredd2

 

The second track this week from a Glasgow band. There must be something in the water up there because there’s so much great music just pouring out of that city at the moment. Like Pinact (who I featured on Tuesday) there is a definite late ’80s early ’90s alt rock sound to Shredd. This time it’s the harmony that reminds me a little bit of The Pixies. But they’re more frenetic than that, louder, faster, heavier, full of nervous energy.

I absolutely love this. It straddles that line between melody and chaos that Sonic Youth used to do so well. It’s right on the edge there, which is something I always find quite exciting: uplifting and challenging at the same time. ‘The Switch’ is from their debut EP Every Time We Meet I Want To Die which was released in January. If you get a chance, check out their latest song ‘Cobra’. That’s pretty awesome too. I’m not sharing it here because I’m kind of saving it for something else I want to write on the blog…

 

 

Follow Shredd:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Shredd2305/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/_shredd

 

3 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.