Track of the Day: Die Rockin’ – Whiskey Myers

I was lucky enough to catch Whiskey Myers live a couple of years ago and really enjoyed the show. Today’s track of the day is taken from their forthcoming fifth self-titled & self-produced studio album, set for release on September 27th via Snakefarm Records in the UK. The album will be available on CD, digital & double vinyl.

‘Die Rockin’’ is a hard-hitting anthem that drives home the band’s passion for music, and the promotional video gives you an idea of the energy Whiskey Myers bring to their live performances.


“Our live shows have been so important over the past few years as we built up to this new album, so we wanted to capture the energy of our onstage performances in a music video,” explains lead guitarist John Jeffers. “‘Die Rockin” specifically talks about how much we love going out there to give it everything we’ve got every night on the road, so it seemed like the perfect fit.”

“I wrote ‘Die Rockin’’ with the legendary Ray Wylie Hubbard, and it really sums up this rock ‘n’ roll life of ours,” continues frontman Cody Cannon. “We’re consumed by music and are such fans of the legends that came before us. We’re out there on the road and in the studio trying to pay homage to those greats who have inspired this generation while we strive to create some magic of our own.”

Across its 14 tracks, the new album stretches the boundaries of genre just as the band themselves have done over the past 12 years, drawing as much inspiration from Nirvana as Waylon Jennings – even adding the famed McCrary Sisters’ gospel influence on background vocals.

‘Whiskey Myers’ follows the band’s most recent record, ‘Mud’, which climbed to No. 4 on Billboard’s US Country chart in 2016, before the group was featured in Paramount Network’s Kevin Costner hit series ‘Yellowstone’ in 2018 – this propelled the entire Whiskey Myers catalogue into the Top 10 of the US iTunes Country chart. The band will again appear in Season 2 of ‘Yellowstone’ with synced tracks throughout the season.

Whiskey Myers have seen their star very much on the rise, playing sold-out tours and appearing on a number of major festivals, including a main-stage presence at the prestigious Download festival (2018) and recently opened for The Rolling Stones at Chicago’s Soldier Field.

‘WHISKEY MYERS’ Track-listing:
1. Die Rockin’
2. Mona Lisa
3. Rolling Stone
4. Bitch
5. Gasoline
6. Bury My Bones
7. Glitter Ain’t Gold
8. Houston County Sky
9. Little More Money
10. California to Caroline
11. Kentucky Gold
12. Running
13. Hammer
14. Bad Weather

Pre-order the album here:

Follow Whiskey Myers:





Picture Credit: Khris Poage

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.