Album Review: National Insecurity – Thunder On The Left

Thunder on the Left are an exciting new band who are producing music with attitude that’s quite unique. They don’t sound as if they are trying to fit into any particular genre but do sound like they have something to say and they want to get their message out there. You could say they’ve created their own genre. There’s a lot of passion behind the lyrics and the production of their debut album.

“National Insecurity”, was released on February 9th 2018 on Malevolent Records (the band’s own imprint).

Even the title, “National Insecurity”, screams loudly about what seems to be happening in the world around us. This album is like a wake-up call to get people thinking.

Thunder On The Left want you take something away from National Insecurity – put down your phones, look up more, stay away from people who don’t deserve your time, and appreciate every moment. Thunder On The Left are about to knock some sense into you with their formidable entrance into the rock world.

The first song on the album, “Everybody Is Not Me”, is one of my favourites. It’s a hard-hitting track with a positive message encouraging rebellion against what has become the norm. With lyrics such as, “It’s been some time since your mind has been your own”, it’s a powerful song.

Track 2 continues in a similar vein. “Cliché” is a protest song against a system that is no longer working and only leading to degeneration. The band released a fantastic lyric video for this song last month.


Song number 3 is “Survivor”, another strong protest song about the lies that perpetuate in society. When listening to this track, you start to hear a pattern in the way this band’s songs are constructed. There’s a repetitive quality to the thought-provoking and insightful lyrics that help to emphasise the message behind them, backed by heavy music that demands to be heard.

Track 4 is “Rather Be Dead Than Be Fake”. The title says it all. It starts off slower than the other tracks but still has that trademark repetitive Thunder-on-the-left sound. This track is another of my favourites; it has many interesting parts to it – lyric driven but with some intense musical sequences.

“Hurt Locker” is the next track. It has a heavy, and quite rhythmic tune, which again sounds very original with a mix of many genres: rock, punk, indie, thrash, grunge…

Track 6 is “Interlude”, which is another of my faves. It’s excellent. It says a lot in just a few words, and at just under two minutes in length is a short song but very effective. I love the way Thunder On The Left have such an experimental approach to their music; it makes for some awesome and unconventional songs.

Song 7, “Vaporise the Bitch”, is quite a heavy track with some introspective lyrics giving it an angsty quality. Another example of how expressive this band can be in both their musical style and lyrics, producing some very dynamic and influential sounds.

The next song has an interesting title “A Polite Fuck Off”. It kind of sums up the attitude of Thunder On The Left in one line 🙂

“A Polite Fuck Off” has a contagious groove as well as being very lyric-driven. It was written about an almost life-long friendship gone sour; Carla (singer/guitar/songwriter) says it was her way of exhuming the pain by making it into a song:

“This song, I have to say, I am most proud of – not only for it’s clear Rock and R’N’B cross-over – but because I experienced something very painful with people I’d known for a long time, who I deduced were better to cut out than have a confrontation over the ways they were continually treating me that they would never admit to, hence the title, A Polite Fuck Off.”

Track 9 is “National Insecurity”, the title track. It was featured as my Track of the Day in October 2017. It’s a great song, looking at the way technology has dictated how people live their lives. It’s another song that says a lot with just a few words.

“Sign My Name” is next, a heavy riff driven track, quite catchy, with insightful lyrics that have a political slant. “The government hates you… But you don’t know they do”… The song has quite a dramatic ending.

The final song, “Simply Eaten”, is the longest on the album at almost seven minutes. It’s a post-rock piece, showing a different side to the band, especially in the first half of the song, it’s slower and more introspective. “Simply Eaten” is a thought-provoking piece showcasing the almost philosophical side to the band’s songwriting. A brilliant song and a great way to end this debut collection from one of the most innovative and fearless bands around at the moment.

Get your copy of National Insecurity:



Add to your Spotify playlist:

Thunder On The Left are: Arun (drummer), Adam (bassist), Carla (vocals, guitarist)

Catch them on tour, there are still a few dates left:

They’ve also added a few more dates in March, April, and May. Check out their Facebook page for details:

Follow the band:





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.