Track of the Day – BULLY – Feel the Same

Bully2

 

It’s not very often I struggle to describe something. Not because I’m particularly good at it, but because I just like to launch on in and don’t really care if it sounds like nonsense or not. I’m struggling a bit with this one though. I guess it’s because it has quite a unique sound in a way. It starts off with a sort of insidious little riff that kind of creeps up on you before launching into a virtually (but not quite) discordant instrumental. There’s a great vocal over the top which builds as it goes and holds it all together. If pushed I’d say it sounds a bit like a demented version of Garbage. If Butch Vig and Shirley Manson were having a very strange day. I’d love to know what tuning has been used on the guitars though. It’s really unusual; should probably be used more by other bands.

Bully come from Nashville, Tennessee and were put together by Alicia Bognanno. I think it’s fair to say though that they are definitely not your usual Nashville band. I can hear a lot of alt influences swirling about in their sound and it’s no real surprise to see they’re signed up to Sub Pop.

Although not strictly that similar, they have something about them that reminds me of The Breeders or Belly. Maybe it’s in the attitude, I don’t know. Anyway, their debut album Feels Like came out back in 2015. ‘Feel the Same’ has just been joined by another new track ‘Running’ which seems to suggest they’re heading towards a new album this year (or next)!? Keep an eye open for that one.

 

 

Follow Bully:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bullythemusic/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Bully

Official: http://www.bullythemusic.com/

 

Leave a Reply

