Album review – HEAVY TIGER ‘Glitter’

heavytiger_glitterSwedish rock’n’roll three-piece Heavy Tiger call their music “high voltage rock’n’roll”, and after listening to the band’s brand new album ‘Glitter’, I’m not going to argue with that assessment. ‘Glitter’ snaps, crackles, and pops with a raw, giddy energy, as the band blasts through a track-list that is fierce, fiery and a hell of a lot of fun.

Heavy Tiger is a skilled and confident crew that doesn’t mess around or complicate things: they punch out the tunes and deliver the goods and pull you along to the next tune. Chords and chorus, riffs and lyrics, everything is tight, sharp, and almost ridiculously catchy. There are definite vibes of the 70s and early 80s in the band’s sound, and they might make you think of bands like The Hellacopters, The Runaways, The Ramones, Sweet, and even KISS. Twist all that into your musical DNA and you’ll end up with something pretty darn great.

Heavy Tiger kicks off the proceedings with one of the album’s best tunes, ‘I Go for the Cheap Ones’, a track with an infectious and joyful swagger (as well as a sense of humour). ‘Feline Feeling’ showcases the band’s strut and attitude, while ‘Shake Me’ turns out to be an ass-kicking, hip-shaking love song – I really just adore this track, including the lyrics “come on baby, shake me like before”.

Photo by Niclas Brunzell.

The entire track-list is full of gems, like the irresistible ‘No Tears in Tokyo’, and the equally glorious ‘Jemma’. Tunes like ‘The Only Way Is Up’ and ‘Downer and a Sunny Day’ are pitch-perfect mood-enhancers. The final track, ‘Devil May Care’ is one of my faves: a flat-out fantastic rocker, with all the  attitude, happiness, and swagger you need in your musical diet.

If you’re looking for an album that will pick you up on a rainy day, ‘Glitter’ might be just what the doctor ordered. This is Heavy Tiger’s second album, and the band is definitely proving they’ve got what it takes to make it in the world of rock’n’roll: this release should be a big hit, and I hope to see them conquer stages and airwaves around the world.

‘Glitter’ is available now:

Heavy Tiger’s official website / FacebookYouTube


  1. I Go for the Cheap Ones
  2. Feline Feeling
  3. Shake Me
  4. No Tears in Tokyo
  5. The Only Way Is Up
  6. Catwalking on a Dog Day Afternoon
  7. Downer and a Sunny Day
  8. Keeper of the Flame
  9. Starshaped Badge and Gun Shy
  10. Jemma
  11. Devil May Care


  • Maja Linn- Guitar and Vocals
  • Astrid Carsbring- Drums and Backing Vocals
  • Sara Frendin- Bass and Backing Vocals




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s