Album spotlight – TY COATES ‘Child In The Man’

ty_coates_albumSometimes, all you need is a hit of great-sounding, well-crafted rock and roll to pick your mood up, and that is exactly what you’ll get on this album from Australian singer / songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Ty Coates. ‘Child In The Man’ is full of great vocals, lyrics that have both heart and soul, and a classic melodic rock sound that’ll warm you up from the inside.

Ty’s voice is outstanding: powerful, strong and with a warmth that has just enough grit to make it interesting. The tunes are strong as well, starting off with the hooky title track ‘Child In The Man’ – such a great chorus and some very tasty guitar work. Other stand-out tracks include the brilliant ‘Rolling Stone’; ‘Picture of You’, which gives me a terrific Eagles vibe; and the gorgeous ballad ‘Home’s Where The Heart Is’ – a tune that expresses so much love and longing, and features some beautiful acoustic guitar as well. (There’s more of that great acoustic guitar on the track ‘Worlds On Fire’).

Another one of my favourite tunes is ‘Good Dog/Bad Dog’ with its swampy, hot southern rock vibe (man, I love this tune), and ‘Fallen Angels’ is excellent, too – just a fantastic, catchy rocker of a tune.

‘Child In The Man’ is a rock-solid release with a great sound, and melodies that stay with you. Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in honest-to-goodness rock that’ll pick you up on a rainy day.

ReverbNation / YouTube


  • Ty Coates: guitars, bass, drums, bodhran, tin whistle, harmonica
  • Caz Rae: backing vocals
  • Shona & Kyriann Coates: backing vocals on track 5
  • Christina Crofts: slide guitar on tracks 2, 11
  • Jamie Hooker: acoustic guitar on track 5
  • Jim Gardner: cajon on track 7
  • Neil Bonfield: additional acoustic guitar on track 7
  • Chris Hawkins: bass on track 7


  1. Child In The Man
  2. Gods Wasteland
  3. Rolling Stone
  4. Picture of You
  5. Home’s Where The Heart Is
  6. Good Dog/Bad Dog
  7. Worlds On Fire (acoustic version)
  8. Spirit of Erin
  9. Fallen Angels
  10. First Love
  11. When Heaven Calls
  12. Widow Maker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s