90s Flashback: Standing Outside A Broken Phone Booth With Money In My Hand

My music collection is *slightly* out of control. I have a couple thousand CDs, 500 or so vinyl albums, and more digital music than I can keep track of. Some people document their lives by writing in journals. My life is documented within the music I own. My journey is all there, in the lyrics and the notes.

Writing about music on two sites (here and our sister site, Soundwaves Review) means I’m mostly listening to new stuff, and my older stuff gets neglected. Now and then I like to shuffle through some of the history, which is what I was doing when I popped this one into my CD player:

The Primitive Radio Gods released Rocket in 1996, and I bought it shortly after this single hit the airwaves. Here is standing outside a broken phone booth with money in my hand

 

If you’re not familiar with the band and the song, that’s BB King you hear calling out in the chorus.

Chris O’Connor handled all vocals, music, and production of this album.

Stream and Purchase

Spotify / Amazon / iTunes

Leave a Reply

