Album review – BUFFALO SUMMER ‘Second Sun’

second_sunI already knew that Welsh rockers Buffalo Summer had some great rock and roll chops: the band proved that on their self-titled debut album a few years ago. ‘Second Sun’, the band’s second album, kicks everything up more than a notch, delivering 12 rollicking, soulful, and hugely enjoyable tunes. This is a hard-rocking, rock and roll revival kind of release, powered by outstanding vocals from Andrew Hunt, and impressive guitar-work from Johnny Williams.

The sound is influenced by the past – think 1970s bands like Free, Lynard Skynard, and Cream – as well as more recent bands like The Black Crowes. But Buffalo Summer have their own vibe and energy: there are flashes of the blues, hard rock, and soul, with rhythms and melodies and rowdy riffs that will get your hips and your feet moving.

‘Second Sun’ is a solid and impressive album from start to finish. It starts off with the gloriously groovy ‘Money’; unleashes some massive riffs on the heavy, thumping second track ‘Heartbreakin’ Floorshakin’ (I really love this tune); and delivers a slamming good, hip-shaking rock’n’roller with ‘Make You Mine’.

The darker, soulful ‘Neverend’ is another favourite of mine, and so is the catchy and jamming ‘As High As The Pines’. Buffalo Summer bares some heart and soul on the stellar ‘Light Of The Sun’ – a beauty of a track that shines with a great melody and stirring vocal harmonies.


‘Levitate’ is another keeper, bringing a bluesy slide and groove to the proceedings, and on ‘Little Charles’ the band surprises with a funky number that shows the depth of their musical skills and influences. By the time Buffalo Summer closes out the tracklist with the luscious ‘Water To Wine’ I was already making a mental note that this is one of the most enjoyable and fun albums I’ve listened to this year.

This release is an absolute rock and roll treat. It’s been a long wait for this second album, but Buffalo Summer has been busy in the intervening years, honing their chops on stage, while touring with bands like Crobot, Scorpion Child, and Buckcherry. The result: tunes that are rich, deep, and soul-satisfying. Buffalo Summer’s debut showed a lot of promise; on this second album, the band fulfills that promise and then some.

My verdict? Get it, crank it, dig it.

Buffalo Summer’s official website / Facebook / Twitter

Get the album:

CD (digipak): / Vinyl: / Digital download at Amazon: / iTunes:


  1. Money
  2. Heartbreakin’ Floorshakin’
  3. Make You Mine
  4. Neverend
  5. As High As The Pines
  6. Light Of The Sun
  7. Levitate
  8. Into Your Head
  9. Little Charles
  10. Priscilla
  11. Bird On A Wire
  12. Water To Wine


  • Andrew Hunt: Vocals
  • Johnny Williams: Guitar
  • Darren King: Bass
  • Gareth Hunt: Drums


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s