Album review – TEQUILA MOCKINGBYRD ‘Fight And Flight’

tbird_fightflightIn my Swedish-Canadian mind, Australia is an enchanted land populated by venomous and poisonous animals, various marsupials, and – most importantly – a whole lot of kick-ass rock and roll bands – with Tequila Mockingbyrd being one of those kick-ass crews. Last year I reviewed the band’s very promising EP ‘T-Byrds Are Go’ (released in 2014), and now they’re back with a full-length album called ‘Fight And Flight’. And holy smoking vinyl, Batman, this release is awesome.

I love this album: it’s full of rock and roll riffs and swagger, lit up by an irrepressible punk-rock energy that makes the music go off like a ton of dynamite. The EP was good (I already knew I loved ‘Money Tree’, ‘Catalyst’, ‘Everyone Down’, and ‘Shut Me Down’ – all taken from the EP), but ‘Fight And Flight’ is the full monty (musically speaking, of course).



‘I Smell Rock N Roll’ kicks off the album, and this tune is a monster: a rowdy and rocking rifftastic monster, so good you’ll want to hear it at least twice (and crank it up even louder on that second go ‘round). ‘Never Go Home’ is another slamming good tune, showing off some great vocals and storytelling lyrics while being catchy as heck.

Two of my favourite tracks on this album are the fierce and fiery ‘Half Of The Man’ – all rowdy riffs and edgy energy – and ‘So Not Me’  with its heavy thump of drums and a whole lot of swagger: “I don’t want to be another show pony, I don’t want to be the word around town”.

Other standouts include the slow-burning, dark, and menacing ‘This Ain’t Dead’, the rip-roaring and snappy ‘Somebody Put Something In My Drink’, and the raunchy rock and roller ‘Good Time’.

Tequila Mockingbyrd are really putting their foot down on the main stage with this album: there’s so much genuine life and joy and blistering-burning fire on ‘Fight And Flight’ that the album is irresistible.  The band sounds fantastic, adding a bit of gloss to the production, but still keeping their sharp edges and raw energy. To quote the band’s own Facebook bio: “No lemon. No salt. No chaser… Tequila Mockingbyrd are a shot of straight up rock n roll packing a high energy punch”.

A must-listen for fans of honest-to-goodness rock.

Tequila Mockingbyrd’s official website / Facebook / Twitter


  1. I Smell Rock N Roll
  2. Never Go Home
  3. Money Tree *
  4. Catalyst *
  5. Half Of The Man
  6. So Not Me
  7. Everyone Down *
  8. This Ain’t Dead
  9. Somebody Put Something In My Drink
  10. Why Are We Still Friends
  11. Jagerbomb
  12. Shut Me Down *
  13. Good Time

* From the ‘T-Byrds Are Go’ EP


  • Estelle “Big Hair” Artois
  • Jess “I-can-do-flips-n-shit” Rizzle
  • Josie “Womble” O’Toole


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.