Featured Album: LIFE SCREAMS by Lacey Sturm

Lacey Sturm, former lead singer of Flyleaf, has released a kickass solo album. The collection of songs making up Life Screams shows off Sturm’s vocal range, as well as her ability to effortlessly embrace different moods. We go from elated to angry to hopeful. Each song is a different chapter in our emotional journey.

Life Screams

  1. Impossible
  2. The Soldier
  3. I’m Not Laughing
  4. Vanity
  5. Rot
  6. You’re Not Alone
  7. Feels Like Forever
  8. Life Screams
  9. Faith
  10. Roxanne (Live)
  11. Run To You

 

 

 

This one is Impossible:

I have nothing left
But I keep on pouring
Out like I am endless…

Lacey covers Roxanne by The Police on the album. I’m not a big fan of the original. I know, boo me if you must. For me, the mood of Sting’s vocals and the music don’t fit the darkness of the lyrics. It all feels a little too light. Lacey corrects that, giving us the darkness the lyrics demand.

Those days are over
You don’t have to sell your body to the night…

Lacey then gives us the aching beauty of Run To You:

But I’ll let you go
If that’s what you want…

Connect, Stream, Purchase:

Lacey Sturm

Website / Facebook / Twitter / YouTube / Spotify / Amazon

Leave a Reply

