#MusicMonday – KALEO – The Band You Need To Hear

I am shattered. Raw. And I love the way it feels. That is the dichotomy of the blues. For me, the blues is the heart and breath of rock, and it’s sadly missing from the homogeneous noise filling our airwaves. That absence makes it all the more powerful when I find a band that not only embraces the blues, but embodies its very essence.

I’m talking about Kaleo. These four Icelanders take me back to the roots of my love of rock. Jökull Júlíusson’s vocals have the power to bring me to my knees, melt me into a puddle. It’s not just about his tone, which is killer, but the way he offers the lyrics, the depth of emotion, the power he commands. His voice sits perfectly within the music, complementing and blending, so that the sounds are wrapped together in layers of beauty and soul.

Pop in your earbuds, turn up the volume, tell everyone around to leave you alone, and listen.

This song is I Can’t Go On Without You:

And this is Way Down We Go. The video is recorded inside a volcano – a very cold one by the looks of it. Brilliant atmosphere for the song:

Meet the Band:

Kaleo

Jökull Júlíusson – Vocals, guitar
Davíð Antonsson – Drums, vocals
Daníel Ægir Kristjánsson – Bass
Rubin Pollock – Lead guitar

Connect, Stream, Purchase:

Website / Facebook / Twitter / YouTube / Spotify / iTunes / Amazon

Leave a Reply

