Album review – OZONE MAMA ‘Sonic Glory’

Sonic_gloryI first checked out Hungarian rockers Ozone Mama in June this year, when their tracks ‘Go’ and ‘San Francisco’ just blew me away. In September, the band released its third album – Sonic Glory – and it’s another ear-catching show of strength, rippling with musical talent and tunes that might just induce hip-shaking and hair-tossing. This is guitar-powered rock and roll with its roots in the 1960s and 1970s classic golden-age music, and streaks of soul and blues show through both here and there. Not surprising, really, since Ozone Mama quotes influences like Led Zeppelin, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Free, Monster Magnet, and Hawkwind.

Sonic Glory blasts off with my two favourite tracks on this album: ‘Good Times Roll’ is an all fired-up, hard rocking tune that makes me feel good all over – there’s a real weight and muscle to the music here, and the guitars just rip and grip me from the get-go. The fast and rollicking ‘Backdoor Man’ keeps that vibe going: it’s catchy, has a hooky chorus and it’s just through-and-through fun.OzoneMama

‘Gypsy Girl’ brings a gentler, softer vibe from the band, and a trippy, psychedelia-tinged feel, but Ozone Mama soon amps things up with the rowdy and gritty ‘Hard Times’, featuring loads of rumbly, heavy bass and excellent vocals by front-man Marton Szekely.

I also really like the hard-rocking ‘Kings And Rulers’, and the rambling, free-wheeling ‘Man On The Run’. The band shows off some acoustic sounds on the soft and glowy ballad ‘Hope’ – allowing Szekely to show off his vocal range, and featuring some beautiful guitar work as well. Finally, the last track ‘Ain’t No Place Of Mine’ brings on some real heavy-swinging, groovy rock with terrific guitar- and bass-work and some terrific harmonica-playing as well.

Since releasing their debut album in 2012, Ozone Mama has won the Hungarian equivalent of a Grammy, been featured in Classic Rock Magazine, and have opened for bands like Monster Magnet and Airbourne. It’s a band that successfully blends an old-school, 60s/70s rock’n’roll vibe with some blues, soul and a hard-rocking energy all their own. This four-piece is definitely worth checking out for some honest-to-goodness rock and roll.

Sonic Glory is out now and is available on Spotify, Amazon, iTunes, Google Play and physical CDs can be ordered through by emailing the band: check the Ozone Mama website for all the details!

Ozone Mama’s official website / FacebookTwitter


  • Marton Szekely: vocals and tambourine
  • Andras Gabor: guitars and background vocals
  • Gergely Dobos: bass
  • Mate Gulyas: drums.


  1. Good Times Roll
  2. Backdoor Man
  3. Gypsy Girl
  4. Hard Times
  5. Kings And Rulers
  6. Lovelight
  7. Siren’s Call
  8. Man On The Run
  9. Hope
  10. Ain’t No Place Of Mine

Band photo: Imre Barta photography



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s