Interview with Robb Laffoon of The Wild Young Hearts

 [Originally posted on UK Arts Directory on 3/3/15]

 

The new album by LA based band The Wild Young Hearts will be released on the 31st March 2015. You can pre-order it on Bandcamp, at the following link: http://thewildyounghearts.bandcamp.com/album/feel-good

a0361335367_16

The ten track album is aptly named because this band have a definite “feel good” sound that probably comes from living in a sunny part of the world! The band’s influences include Bruce Springsteen, Tom Petty, Blink 182, Weezer, Katy Perry, U2, Nirvana, The Gaslight Anthem, and The Beach Boys.

I’ve been lucky enough to hear “Feel Good” in its entirety. When I was listening to the album, a few of the songs reminded me of Ugly Kid Joe for some reason: I think they have the same kind of vibe. I can definitely hear the influence of The Beach Boys, Tom Petty, and Green Day in their music. I enjoyed listening to all the songs and at the moment my favourite is “Broken”, which has quite poignant lyrics and a nice melody. One thing I noticed about this album is that the lyrics play a big part in the songs, each song is like a little story.

 

 

If you like good old fashioned rock and roll, you’ll enjoy The Wild Young Hearts.

I recently caught up with Robb Laffoon (vocals/guitar).

Interview with Robb Laffoon of The Wild Young Hearts

11006366_509539125851156_8313626496046486646_n

Since I last interviewed you, you’ve released your debut album “California Dreams” last year and are about to release your second album, “Feel Good”. I know that with your EP Pretty Girls, you did most of the songwriting. Was that the case with the albums?

I’d say this album is the most collaborative thing we’ve done, while still being more personal to me than any of our past releases. I’ve been living with our bassist Garrett since July so he’s been a lot more involved in the process, as opposed to when we released Pretty Girls when he was new to the band. Also, our drummer Kevin had a lot more say in the arrangements of the songs this time around, so it really is a group effort. When we first started the band it was more of me bringing my songs to Justin to write guitar parts for, and then that being the final product. Now, it feels a lot more like creating music with my three friends.

I’ve noticed that the lyrics play an important part in your songs, and most of them are like mini-stories, which is great. Are your songs based on real events in your life?

Yeah, a lot of our past songs were based on real things, while a good chunk were just fictional stories (spoiler: I never fucked a supermodel).

Hahaha!! 🙂

On Feel Good, the songs are direct events from my life, and the songs are very personal and very real.

 

You moved to LA when the band started. How does living there compare to where you grew up?

LA has its ups and downs, but it’s alright. I kind of grew up all over, so I’m used to living far from home. Home is where you make it. There’s a few cool things about LA too, and I think for all the times I trash it on this record, deep down I enjoy it. West Hollywood and Venice Beach are my jam though.

You have started posting podcasts every Wednesday. What sort of thing can fans expect from those?

You can expect raw, completely not safe for work discussion about anything we really feel like talking about. We keep it fun and honest, and cover a wide array of topics. We also like to use our podcast to share what’s new from us. I would recommend it to everyone on earth to check out.

😀 Tell us a bit about the songs on the new album and whether you noticed any change in your musical direction with this album.

I think there has been some slight changes over the last couple years since Pretty Girls came out, and with this album I tried to go big or go home. Without sounding too lame and cliche, I tried to write the greatest songs I could. Songs I would want to listen to all day and I wouldn’t be able to get them out of my head. I hope I achieved that to some degree.

Do you have any favourite tracks from the new album?

I love all my babies equally, but Smile For Me is probably my personal favorite. If I had to pick the best song I ever wrote, I’d say it’s Smile For Me, but maybe that’s just because I’m biased on the subject. We’ll see what the listeners think, maybe it sucks.

That’s a brilliant song!

What are the band’s plans for 2015?

Keep hustling and doing all we can to make sure everybody knows who The Wild Young Hearts are.

You’ve been playing gigs locally. How has that been going?

We’ve had a chain of successful gigs at The Whisky A Go Go over the past year, and it has kind of become our home base, but I think this year we’re going to be doing a lot of branching out. We have some really cool shows around California we’re going to be confirming soon hopefully, so we have a lot in store.

If you could tour with any other band, who would you choose and why?

I wanna tour with the new and improved Blink 182!!! Now that they have Matt Skiba in the band, my interest has soared, and it would be awesome. Plus, I think we would all be great friends. Whaddaya say, guys?

Do you have any other news for your fans?

We sure do. We want all of you to know how incredibly nice you look in a good sundress or tuxedo. Keep smiling, and I hope you enjoy our new record. I put a lot of my blood, sweat, and tears in this bad boy. Okay, I don’t think I did much sweating, we have air conditioning, but for stories sake lets say I did. Ciao.

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions, Robb! I hope this will be a fabulous year for The Wild Young Hearts! 🙂

 

THE WILD YOUNG HEARTS

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheWildYoungHearts
Bandcamp: http://thewildyounghearts.bandcamp.com/
Reverbnation: http://www.reverbnation.com/thewildyounghearts
Twitter: https://twitter.com/twyhband
Purevolume: http://www.purevolume.com/thewildyounghearts
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/thewildyounghearts
Instagram: https://instagram.com/thewildyounghearts/

 

 [Originally posted on UK Arts Directory on 3/3/15]

2 comments

  1. […] I’ve been following The Wild Young Hearts for a couple of years now. They are a rock and roll band from California who are producing some great feel-good rock and roll. I interviewed them a couple of times when I was blogging for the UK Arts Directory. Here’s a link to my interview with the singer, Robb Laffoon, from last year: https://realrockandroll.wordpress.com/2016/05/08/interview-with-robb-laffoon-of-the-wild-young-heart… […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

